Cabinet Sworn In For Gilgit Baltistan

A cabinet with six members took an oath in Gilgit earlier this week.

Seven ministers were to take oath. These include, Muhammad Wakil, Sobia Moqaddam and Janbaz Khan from Diamer district, Farman Ali from Astore district, Ibrahim Sanai from Ghanche district, Dr Muhammad Iqbal from Gilgit and Akbar Taban from Skardu.

Taban, however, did not take the oath for senior minister. It was reported that he would decide over accepting the portfolio after he met with the prime minister. According to a PML-N lawmaker, Taban wanted to become the governor as people from Skardu thought the post of governor should be given to a lawmaker from their area which is the second largest town of Gilgit Baltistan. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif decided the final cabinet.

Among other members of the cabinet was Moqaddam, who is the only minister to be appointed to the assembly on a woman’s seat on a PML-N ticket.