Mian Ayub Debating Championship 2017

Mian Ayub Debating Championship 2017

The second Mian Ayub Debating Championship was held at Lahore Law College from 25th to 27th February 2017.

The event was organized in collaboration with Courting The Law, Pakistan’s first legal news and analysis portal. The tournament featured 28 teams from various institutes including Government College University, Forman Christian College University, Fatima Jinnah Medical University, FAST, University of Engineering and Technology, University of Lahore, Allama Iqbal Medical College, Ameeruddin Medical College, University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences and the Lahore School of Economics.

The adjudication panel comprised of Kaleem Chattha, Roohullah Gulzari, Salman Ayub, Zahid Ali and Faizan Raja who provided the participants with insightful remarks. The championship was based on the British parliamentary format.

After some intellectually stimulating matches in the preliminary rounds, four teams qualified for the finals held on 27th February 2017. Barrister Maryam Hayat from Courting The Law was the Guest of Honor for the final match.

The team from Forman Christian College (FCCU) lifted the team trophy beating arch-rivals and defending champions Government College University (GCU). The winning team comprised of Zahra Ali Abbasi and Zain Tahir.

The final tournament was followed by refreshments in which participants interacted with the adjudicators and their peers to exchange insights from mutual experiences.